Are You Looking For A Cheap Wedding Photographer?


I came across this screen shot of an ad a disgruntled woman posted on craigslist while searching for a “cheap” wedding photographer. if anyone has ever wondered why photography, specifically wedding photography, is so expensive please read on. This ad has lit the wedding and portrait photography industry by storm. I wonder if she “gets” it now. Thank you Nikki Wagner for responding to this woman in a dignified and detailed way.

-M

Naples, Fort Myers and Sanibel Wedding Photographer | NikkiMayDay Photography

Earlier today my friend and fellow photographer posted a link to a craigslist ad from a woman in Seattle looking for a wedding photographer.

The woman was upset because she thought that $3000 for a wedding photographer was “wack” because all we do “is hang out at a wedding taking tons of photos and editing them” and that we are “making so much money its crazy.”

I first read this post earlier today while I was running errands and my head almost EXPLODED.  I immediately started drafting a horribly mean and punishing response in my head, BUT by the time I got home, I realized that this is probably a common misconception and that maybe I should try to EXPLAIN why photographers charge what we / they do for our / their work.

Before I post my response, I want to THANK all of my brides who appreciate my work…

View original post 1,237 more words

Leave a Reply

